Acest website foloseste cookie-uri pentru facilitarea accesului si livrarea multiplelor functionalitati. Daca veti continua sa navigati, vom considera ca ati acceptat folosirea acestora.
X

Puteti compara maxim 4 produse! Primul produs adaugat in lista a fost sters.

GESTAPO: THE MYTH & REALITY OF HITLER
Cod 9781473652422 9
Preț 11,99 Lei
MAFIA BROTHERHOODS
Cod 9781444742091 18
Preț 7,99 Lei
COMPLETE NOVELS OF JANE AUSTEN
Cod 9781840220551 In stoc!
Preț 7,99 Lei
COMPLETE WORKS OF SHAKESPEARE
Cod 9781853268953 In stoc!
Preț 7,99 Lei
Doctor Zhivago
Cod 9780099448426 In stoc!
Preț 15,99 Lei
JOSEPHINE WALL: VIRGO (FOILED POCKET)
Cod 9781786641045 In stoc!
Preț 15,99 Lei
BRITISH LIBRARY: RUBAYAT OF OMAR (FOILED JOURNAL)
Cod 9781786640147 In stoc!
Preț 15,99 Lei
GREAT BOX OF MAGIC
Cod 9781905339037 In stoc!
Preț 15,99 Lei
HEALING MINDFULNESS
Cod 9780753728536 15
Preț 15,99 Lei
GREAT BOX OF MAGIC
Cod 9781905339037 In stoc!
Preț 15,99 Lei
BRINGING UP PUPPY
Cod 9783861279594 9
Preț 7,99 Lei
GREAT BOX OF MAGIC
Cod 9781905339037 In stoc!
Preț 15,99 Lei
Noutati

Capital

Acest produs nu mai face parte din oferta!

Cod: 9780571327362

Detalii produs


From the bestselling author of Whoops! and The Debt to Pleasure comes a post-financial crisis, state-of-the-nation novel told with compassion, humour and unflinching truth. Featuring a contemporary cast of characters that crosses race, class and religion, Capital is the moving and hugely topical story of one street caught on the brink of the crash. Capital: the City of London. Capital: money, currency, finance. Both are central to the multicultural micro-society living and working on Pepys Road-an ordinary street in the Capital. Formerly working class, the simple houses have seen a wave of gentrification and expensive renovations that have rendered them highly desirable, valuable real estate. Here lives Roger Yount, powerful investment banker daily trading risk against profit on the Foreign Exchange. An annual bonus of a million might seem excessive, but with second homes and nannies to maintain, he's not sure he can get by without it. Elsewhere on Pepys Road is the Muslim Pakistani family living above

Preț 7,99 Lei
Disponibilitate0
Preturile includ TVA.
Cantitate
Preț 7,99 Lei
0
Cantitate
cumpără
Preturile includ TVA.

Descriere produs

From the bestselling author of Whoops! and The Debt to Pleasure comes a post-financial crisis, state-of-the-nation novel told with compassion, humour and unflinching truth. Featuring a contemporary cast of characters that crosses race, class and religion, Capital is the moving and hugely topical story of one street caught on the brink of the crash.

Capital: the City of London. Capital: money, currency, finance. Both are central to the multicultural micro-society living and working on Pepys Road-an ordinary street in the Capital. Formerly working class, the simple houses have seen a wave of gentrification and expensive renovations that have rendered them highly desirable, valuable real estate.

Here lives Roger Yount, powerful investment banker daily trading risk against profit on the Foreign Exchange. An annual bonus of a million might seem excessive, but with second homes and nannies to maintain, he's not sure he can get by without it. Elsewhere on Pepys Road is the Muslim Pakistani family living above their convenience store, and a senior widow who entertains visits from her graffiti artist grandson. Recently arrived is Freddy Kano, teenage football celebrity, recruited from Senegal to join the Premier League, who left a two-room shack to follow his dream.

Their stories intertwine with the immigrant workers who service the wealthy residents of the City: Zbigniew, the builder from Warsaw, catering to the super-rich in their interior decoration whims; the nanny who looks after Roger's two small boys while his well-groomed wife indulges her shopaholic tendencies; and traffic warden Quentina, who has exchanged the violence of the police in Zimbabwe for the violence of the enraged upper middle classes. For them all, this city offers the chance of a different kind of life.

Each house has its own story and its own secrets, having seen its fair share of first steps and last breaths, and plenty of laughter in between. Today, through each letterbox along this ordinary street drops a card with a simple message: We Want What You Have.

Readers who enjoy Dickens and Trollope and such contemporary books as Sebastian Faulks' A Week in December, will not want to miss out on this fast-paced, cosmopolitan social saga.

Specificatii

Anul publicarii 2015
Autor JOHN LANCHESTER
Editura Faber & Faber
Format coperta Paperback
ISBN 9780571327362
Limba English
Numar pagini 592
Capital https://www.anticexlibris.ro/userfiles/749d603f-5d08-4368-8541-772794e7e1e3/products/4423443_list.jpg
7.99RON 0
Pentru informatii legate de comenzile cu ridicare din magazine:

Antic ExLibris Doamnei 23:
021 315 30 59
E-mail: anticariatdoamnei@yahoo.com

Antic ExLibris Bratianu (Gabroveni 62):
031 405 41 43
E-mail: magazin_bratianu@yahoo.ro

Pentru informatii legate de comenzile cu livrare in Bucuresti sau provincie:

Office / Comenzi: 021 315 24 62 (L-V: 10:00-16:00);
E-mail:
anticexlibris.comenzi@yahoo.ro
anticexlibris.office@yahoo.com

designed by headstart.ro
Vino in echipa AnticExlibris    Help    Blog    Despre noi    Harta SitePolitica de confidentialitate si cookies